Skip to content

First Day!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
ErikaWittlieb / Pixabay

Well, that was quite the first day of school! It was certainly a challenge trying to find our classes and work with all the technology, but we're going to get there! Here's a recap of the things we talked about in English class today.

Overflow Groups

In order to maintain social distancing, periods 4, 5, and 7 are split into two groups. This can get a bit confusing, so I'm going to post the specific instructions on Schoology for each period. Basically, you're with me every other day and I'm streaming to you in the overflow classroom on the opposite days.

Google Meet

Some people had trouble with the Google Meet for class today, so I want to offer some possible solutions. If you're having trouble logging in, your first step is to make sure that in Chrome (or another web browser like Firefox, though Chrome works best), you're logged in with your school email address instead of your personal email address.

Next, check your class Schoology pages for the links. I know there's the shortcut of using your teacher and period to log in, but this ONLY works if you're logged in with your school account, and some people were having trouble with that today.

Finally, I'm in the process of sending out Google Meet invitations that will arrive in your school email. Open the email and click "Yes" to accept the invitation. Then, go to your Google Calendar. You should see an event for every class you've accepted an invitation to. If you click on the event, there will be a link to the Google Meet class.

If you're not able to get online one day and you still need to get to class, there's a phone number you can call in each calendar event and on our class Schoology page.

Schoology

Since Schoology is a secure site protected by passwords and the school network, that's where I'm going to post class-specific information. That's also where I'd like you to submit your homework going forward, whenever possible.

Google Voice

For security reasons, I'm not going to post the number here, but I created a Google Voice number that you can text or call to leave a voicemail. Email is the best way to reach me, but I'll be checking this Google Voice number on school days after I get home until about 5:00 p.m.

Breathe

This is a weird year, but we're going to get through it together. If you get confused about something or feel frustrated/overwhelmed, reach out to someone. Your guidance counselor is the best person to reach out to, but you can also reach out to me. Hang in there. 🙂

print

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar